Where has time gone?

So I’ll be the first to admit it: I sort of forgot about having this blog in the time between the start of summer to the present – the start of the second half of my sophomore year at Syracuse. A friend’s post on her blog jarred my memory, and the epiphany hit: “You have a blog, but haven’t posted since June, you twit!!” A few frustrated minutes of attempting to remember my password later, and here I sit, writing away before I head to bed.

So much has happened since I last wrote. I had a wonderful and relaxing summer, spending quality time with friends and family – including an entire week filled with sunshine and laziness at the beach in Cape May, NJ. But alas, summer came to a close (as they usually do), and it was time to head back to marching band camp at Syracuse.

I’ll be honest: being a “vet” (or veteran member) of the marching band at band camp felt very strange at first. It was strange not having last year’s senior class there, and it was strange to not be the newcomers. But I settled into the rhythm of things at camp, and before I knew it, a week had gone by and it was time to start classes.

This past semester, I actually enjoyed all but one of my classes (thank you, economics – I’ll never take you again). It felt good to be studying topics that actually interested me, instead of being told I had to take a course to merely fill a requirement. Partway through the semester, I declared my major in Writing and Rhetoric, which surprised many people, since this particular major is something that is unique to Syracuse. Apparently, many other colleges and universities don’t have a major in writing, and those with an interest in it must be English majors, instead. I’ll soon be declaring my other major, political science. Anyone who knows me well enough knows that politics is my passion, and might think it strange that it’s my “other” major. Unfortunately, I couldn’t declare that major first, since I hadn’t fulfilled the prerequisite requirements, but they’re now completed, and I’ll declare it this week.

Marching band season went very well this year (although I wish I could say the same for football season). We performed a variety of field shows, ranging from a patriotic show to commemorate the tenth anniversary of the September 11th attacks, to a karaoke show filled with popular music that motivated the crowd to sing along. New friendships were forged, and old ones picked up where they’d been left off. I had the opportunity to be in band with one of my best friends from high school, Brian Ives. As he and I like to tell everyone, “We live across the street and five houses down from each other.” It’s truly a joy to have him here at Syracuse, and I’m so glad he decided to join marching band.

On a more melancholy note, I was there to witness our football team’s 49-21 drubbing of West Virginia – who was ranked 11th in the nation at the time – only to witness the team fall apart and lose the rest of their games, thus dashing any hopes of a trip to a bowl game. Our basketball team (you may have heard of them) has brightened our outlook on collegiate sports, however, with a 20-0 start and current #1 ranking.

In these, the starting days of this fledgling semester, I look to the future with optimism. So far, I absolutely love all of my classes (and my schedule even more, admittedly). The coming weeks and months promise to bring with them a lot of work, but also a lot of fun. I turn twenty in just over a month and a half, I’ll continue to play in pep band for basketball, and my friends and I will make more wonderful memories together. It’s getting quite late, and I’ve got class tomorrow, so I must go. But fear not – my next post will be sooner than six months from now.

Leave a Reply

